What Does It Feel Like When “Everyone” Is Getting Pregnant, And You Seemingly Cannot?

In a word, it’s “hell.”

Ted Bauer
4 min readFeb 3, 2023

I think the scientific principle herein is “frequency illusion,” but it may be a little bit off. The real culprit may be Instagram. I’m not entirely sure what the underlying thing is, where something you want seems to be happening for or in possession of everyone else, but it’s not the easiest feeling in the world.

For context: my ex and I were together from me being 28 (her 27) to me being 36 (her 35). In that time, among our “core friends,” I’d say three people had kids. She was from Miami, but most of her friend base was Northeast, so having kids later was a little bit of a logical thing, I’d guess. I started dating my current wife about 10–11 months after that divorce. I was still 36 but almost 37. She was newly 29, I believe. Within 2–3 months, 3–4 of her friends were pregnant, and it’s been that way steadily in the last 5.2 years. We got married in October 2020. Been “trying” since around then. Still nada.

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.