We Could Solve A Lot Of Societal Issues By Befriending Our Neighbors

Go do a police ride-along for a bit and see what you learn.

Ted Bauer
4 min readNov 30, 2022

Probably around early June, I did a ride-along with Fort Worth Police because I was going to be a neighborhood volunteer, cruising and looking for anything off-kilter. I was with the cops for six hours. We almost exclusively got “welfare check” calls, some of which were obviously pretty depressing. No one was dead, but someone had been living essentially in their own filth for two weeks, with no one reaching out to them except whoever called the cops to get the welfare check. That particular house was on a street with 12 houses on each side, so 24 in total. As I sat in the car, I thought to myself: “Couldn’t one of the people in these 23 houses have checked on him before the cops were called?”

That’s a simplistic discussion, without question, and I know people lead busy lives, or potentially some of those houses are vacant or have renters or whatever. I get it. It’s not a perfect argument. But I think about this stuff a lot. In September 2020, I moved to the Oakhurst section of Fort Worth, which is kinda north and east of downtown. I actually wrote an article for a local paper about the neighborhood. The neighborhood has definitely been a strong addition to my life in a time of lots of other bullshit and…

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.