The “You Will Never Know A Greater Love Than This” Argument For Kids

How true is this one?

Ted Bauer
4 min readJan 9, 2024

--

This is a common argument for having kids, if not the most common argument. I guess in short answer, it’s definitely true for some people, but I don’t think it’s true for everyone. (What is true for everyone, really?) I think it’s worth some brief unpacking, though. Let’s try.

This article makes a valiant effort at debunking the “greatest love ever known” idea. Within said article, you have:

The worst of all these comments is the age-old saying, “You’ll never feel a love like it.” Don’t you know it’s the greatest love of all? Don’t you realise that real love is only felt post-children? Despite my childless state, I still feel love every day. I don’t know what a love for my own child feels like, but I do feel love for other children — I feel unconditional love for my goddaughter who I consider family. I know I love my friends, whom I couldn’t function without. I know I would walk over hot coals for my brothers…

--

--

Ted Bauer

I write about a lot of different topics, from work to masculinity to relationships and social dynamics, I.e. modern friendship. Pleasure to be here.