The Yin-Yang Of Masculinity: “Purpose” vs. “Respect.”

Don’t actually say “men need both,” because while ideally true, the binary discussion here is relevant.

Ted Bauer
6 min readFeb 12, 2023

I’m not normally one for strict binary discussions, but on this topic I think there’s some relevance.

The question we shall endeavor to investigate is: Do men need “purpose” or “respect” more?

The obvious answer most would give is “Men need and deserve both.” While somewhat true, it’s not entirely true, and I’ll try to outline this throughout this short-ish article.

  1. I write about masculinity a lot. I am not overtly masculine. I am sure some of when I write about masculinity comes off as cringe-y or victim-y. I have tried to lean into this. I’m not always sure I do it well.

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.