The Seeming Consolidation Of Everything

From marriage to media to corporations.

Ted Bauer
3 min readMar 30, 2023

--

This morning, while folding some laundry, I watched this:

I know some people think Robert Reich is a woke joke. I personally find his stuff pretty decent, even if he worked for the Clinton admin, and they gutted financial regulations more than seemingly anyone. We all need a chance to reinvent, am I right?

That video is mostly about the consolidation of companies. You go to a toothpaste aisle at the supermarket and you think “Wow, I have so much choice in the way of toothpaste!” But 70% of the aisle is controlled by two companies. In the beef cases? It’s 82% controlled by four companies. I think this is also where you start to mutter about Monsanto.

Then I was dicking around on The New York Times website, because I myself am a woke joke — and I came across this Pamela Paul column. Within that column, you have this reveal:

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.