The Origin Story Of White Male Rage

It’s a little bit deeper than just “economics.”

Ted Bauer
6 min readFeb 27, 2024

Lots of columnists try to opine about “why voters like Trump” and/or “the origins of white male rage,” and they usually get a little bit close but miss some of the bigger factors out there. Paul Krugman, who is probably very insulated from day-to-day American realities, just tried earlier this morning:

I have written about a lot of these topics, and I mean a lot of them, over the years I’ve been writing. I am also generally pretty angry myself about different things, although I have the self-awareness to realize some of that is “competitive Victimhood” too. I’m a complicated little scamp.

Let me try to break this down for you a bit.

Economics

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.