The Ballad Of Bobby LaRocca

Why “men should be more vulnerable” doesn’t quite encapsulate the mid-life male friendship experience.

Ted Bauer
3 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Before we begin here, I’ll say upfront that I can be a shitty friend, I can be a lot as a person, and I’ve definitely gone through some bouts of depression and generalized malaise and functional addiction over my days. I’ve probably lost more friends than I’ve gained. Actually, that might not be true, because I basically had to reinvent myself after mid-2017, and I’m still here and usually have plans on a weekend. So, go me.

Bobby LaRocca was a kid I went to college with. He’s up in the Beantown area. Very nice dude. I once saw him jump into a lake in western New York fully naked. It was a true sight to behold. His compact and muscular form intrigued many men on this trip, so we asked him how he got jacked. He said, simply, “I looked up some workouts on The New York Times.”

Blessed.

All the years around COVID blend together generally, but I think sometime in 2021, I was drinking a decent amount day-side and I was generally pretty off-task and questioning my role in life. 2021 was the first year I figured out about male infertility, so that was hard. I made like $180,000+ that year despite working maybe three hours/day, so I think I was kinda…

--

--

Ted Bauer

I write about a lot of different topics, from work to masculinity to relationships and social dynamics, I.e. modern friendship. Pleasure to be here.