Sobriety, Day 51: That Time I Almost Totaled My Car, Then Lied About It

Ah, May 2022.

Ted Bauer
7 min readFeb 20, 2023

That picture above is not my actual car at the time.

Since I’ve been chasing this sobriety journey, I’ve been trying to post periodically about all my flaws while drinking excessively, partially as a reminder to myself. Here’s one:

Here’s another:

And here we go with one from mid-May 2022.

Let me give you some context to set this thing up.

  1. My wife and I had done IVF from February 2022 to April 2022. In April, we found out it didn’t work. I was kinda depressed this entire cycle because I was the cause/reason for us having to do IVF in the first place, and now we spent about $18,500 and had nothing to show for it except a crappy call from a nurse at a…

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.