Mom Rage, Marriage Rage, The Confusion Of Roles, And The Justin Problem

Modern relationships in a generic little bow.

Ted Bauer
7 min readFeb 29, 2024

I’ve spent a lot of time on various marriage and relationship topics over the years of writing, which I guess makes sense because I’ve been married twice and now have been trying to have kids in some form for 13 years and that hasn’t happened yet, so I guess all this is stuff I think about and observe. Nice. I just did a little psychoanalysis work on me. Can I now pay myself $250 for that hour? Shit, no? OK.

I want to just walk through some topics here quickly. I’ll do it with the help of headers.

“Mom Rage” As “Marriage Rage”

My own mom definitely yelled at me, and sometimes still does, but I think the modern meme and concept around “mom rage” is supposed to be some cutesy thing we discuss on The Today Show that ignores the fact that a lot of women feel trapped and depressed in their existence. It's like, we nod to the problem, smile at it, meme it a little, and then say, “OK, back to picking up after your husband and your son!” It’s basically like a joke wrapped in a prison.

Some of the “feminist” authors of the moment are more waking up to this reality of late, especially as they themselves get divorced. Look at this, from…

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.