Kill Your Brother, Torch His House: A Utah Love Story To Familial Dynamics

This one is out of North Ogden.

Ted Bauer
2 min readApr 19, 2024

I’ve been relatively blessed and thankful that I haven’t had a lot of major people die in my life, although I’ve had a few tough ones along the way. I’ve probably seen three “status of the estate” things play out from afar. All of them, even the ones I would slug “not contentious,” end up being contentious in their own way — at a complicated intersection of how families are, the need for relevance, the need for money, the desire to “get what’s yours,” a winding legal system, and more.

Well, we may have a situation that takes the cake out of North Ogden, Utah last year. I just came across this case via YouTube.

This dude is named Jeffrey Roberts. He was mid-to-late 60s at the time. He apparently drove from Long Beach, California to North Ogden, Utah. He basically drives 12 to 15 hours, calmly walks up to his brother’s door, exchanges in very brief small talk as a dog appears behind them (all this is on a Ring camera), and then kills his brother. Apparently…

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.