I Think I’m Finally Done With LinkedIn

Their rules seem arbitrary and the platform itself seems largely pointless.

Ted Bauer
4 min readMay 23, 2024

I’ve had a very up-and-down relationship with the good folks of LinkedIn for years now. I got active on there in probably 2012, and by 2021 I had built up about 25,000 followers. I had a few posts hit big on there, like this random thing about the demise of Silicon Valley that I think earned me about 100,000 profile views in a week. I guess I did OK over there.

To not belabor what’s ultimately not a story, in June 2021 I got slapped in LinkedIn Jail for essentially engaging with a Wokester who called out my “little dick energy.”

Notice: she did not get removed from LinkedIn at the time.

A year later, I had a job at TCU that was ultimately pretty meaningless. My boss’ boss would regularly mumble things to me like “I dunno maybe do some LinkedIn Learning” if he didn’t have any work for me, so I got back on there with my TCU email address. I built up about 1,800 followers and was on for maybe 10 months.

--

--

Ted Bauer

Mostly write about work, leadership, friendship, masculinity, male infertility, and some other stuff along the way. It's a pleasure to be here.