Do We Let Parents Off The Hook For Too Much?

Complicated, but potentially true.

Ted Bauer
5 min readMar 27, 2023

--

Try to answer this question before anything else:

What is the role of a parent?

If you ask someone this question, you get a lot of generic, platitude-sounding words including:

  • Nurturing
  • Guiding
  • Learning
  • Developing
  • “Not a friend”
  • Setting boundaries
  • Creating good adults
  • Something about love
  • Etc.

Those are the big bucket responses. Ironically, if you ask someone in a corporate role what the point of leadership is, you get the same responses — even though in the latter case, the point of leadership is “Now I make more money,” and a lot of times, the point of parenthood is “Well, I mean, everyone else I knew was doing at at this time.”

Here is my pastor yesterday in sermon:

--

--

Ted Bauer

I write about a lot of different topics, from work to masculinity to relationships and social dynamics, I.e. modern friendship. Pleasure to be here.